Eagles Of Death Metal: Heart On


I didn’t want to review this album. I didn’t like their first two albums, so I wasn’t very excited about there third. But then Ipecac went and released the vinyl version and I felt obliged.

In the meantime there was Bataclan, which has to be the most publicity Eagles Of Death Metal have ever received. Honestly, I was somewhat impressed they were big enough to be the target of a terrorist attack. And then, oh boy, and then…. Lead singer Jesse Hughes blamed the incident on France’s tight gun laws, I guess because the lax gun laws in the United States are so successful at preventing mass violence. Apparently the guy’s been a nutter for a while, hates Muslims, and supports Trump, and maybe this horrible thing just pushed him beyond the pale.

And it was actually after that happened that I realized I was going to have to review this. I can’t say the guy’s despicable comments (check out that link, he accuses Bataclan security for being in on it, and, to be fair, issues a very good apology later for same comments) didn’t affect my opinion of the album. But I don’t think it’s very good.

This is basically the same as EoDM’s last two albums. They put together some good riffs, but the sound is as thin as Hughes himself and they have a really hard time putting together entire songs. There’s what seems like a cheekiness in the lyrics and the ‘tude, but then given Hughes’ general weirdness you just can’t tell. Whether serious or a gag, though, it doesn’t come off well. I mean, the world didn’t need another song about masturbation, cheeky or not, but here EoDM are with “Solo Flights” singing the praises of self pleasure and oh god it was somewhat outrageous when The Divinyls did it 20 years prior but Jesus Christ, yeah, we all love jerking off.

From memory, ‘cuz there’s no way I’m going to go back and listen to them, this is a bit better than the band’s first two albums, maybe a lot better. I mean, I can kind of stand like a third of it. And I was able to find my old review of Death By Sexy…, and it got 1.5 [clowns], so there’s a little more evidence for the band getting better over time.

Still, that third I enjoy rarely consists of entire songs and/or requires I be in just the right mood for it to hit me in the right way. No, there’s no reason to spend any more time with this than my rules say I have to, and I can’t believe enough people want to own this on vinyl that Ipecac decided to put it out, but EoDM and vinyl are two things I am clearly not the target market for.

Like: “Anything ‘Cept The Truth,” “I’m Your Torpedo”
Meh: “Wannabe In LA,” “(I Used To Couldn’t Dance) Tight Pants,” “Secret Plans,” “Heart On”
Dislike: “High Voltage,” “Now I’m A Fool,” “Cheap Thrills,” “How Can A Man With So Many Friends Feel So All Alone,” “Solo Flights”
Hate: “Prissy Prancin'”
Song Notes: After the jump

  1. Anything ‘Cept The Truth – catchy. T-Rex. great start
  2. Wanna Be In LA –
  3. (I Used To Couldn’t Dance) Tight Pants –
  4. High Voltage –
  5. Secret Plans –
  6. Now I’m A Fool –
  7. Heart On – “What good’s a heart if it ain’t on your sleeve?” “I only want some pieces of you”
  8. Cheap Thrills – Bad Company/Pearl Jam feel, spesh at start. Bridge saves it from Hate
  9. How Can A Man With So Many Friends Feel So All Alone – no redeeming value. Just boring and forgettable
  10. Solo Flights – the world did not need another cheeky song about masturbation
  11. Prissy Prancin’ – falsetto. Supper Annoying
  12. I’m Your Torpedo –

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s