Screaming Trees: Clairvoyance

Screaming Trees’ first full-length album, their only release on Velvetone, was destined for a three-clown review, but it benefits from my busy schedule. I couldn’t find the time to sit down and hammer out the review so just kept listening to it and a lot more of the songs became a lot more fun to listen to.

So let’s start with my initial assessment, which really hasn’t changed. This is a solid disc with no bad songs on it. A couple of songs, “The Turning,” which was also on Other Worlds, and “Standing On The Edge,” rise above the crowd, but for the most part it’s an even listen throughout. It suffers from muffled, thin sound (though, to be fair, I’m listening on a new device (Lumia 920), and I’m pretty unhappy with its sound in general) and what I feel is poor drumming from original drummer Mark Pickerel. The band feels very rushed and the tempi are uneven. There’s no groove that they can settle in to.

Mark Lanegan’s voice has gotten rougher since Other Worlds, but he still hasn’t settled into what it will be. It feels like he’s experimenting with what he wants to do with it. Guitarist Gary Lee Conner has the clearest vision of what he wants to do, as well as the best chops, though those two things tend to go hand in hand. Even before I warmed up to the rest of the album I enjoyed his melodies and appreciated them being so forward in the mix.

The band as a whole still hasn’t found their later style yet, either. Again, their strengths lie in writing good melodies, but you don’t really get any sense of where it’s going to end up. On this album I heard a very strong influence of The Doors, something I’ve never heard on their other stuff (though I have a feeling I will from here on out). Lanegan definitely goes Jim Morrison in a few places, in particular on “Standing On The Edge” and the Doors-esque titled “Strange Out Here,” and the way they use the keys to kick off “You Tell Me All These Things” is reminiscent of “Light My Fire.”

So what changed to earn this album another half-clown? Just letting it run, spending more time with it, I started to differentiate the songs in the middle part of the album. And when the melodies weren’t there to carry a song, I started to appreciate that they were rocking pretty hard. And once I picked out Pickerel as the weak link in my experience, I was able to focus on what the Conner brothers were able to pull off in spite of his performance.

I’m not sure this album or Other Worlds would have been enough to grab my attention on their own, but getting to them via the band’s later stuff has been an enjoyable experience.

Rating:

newclown_thumb2972222218225newclown_thumb2972222218225newclown_thumb2972222218225halfclown_thumb23_thumb_thumb_thumb_[2]
– “Orange Airplane,” “Standing On The Edge,” “Lonely Girl,” “The Turning,” “Clairvoyance”
– “You Tell Me All These Things,” “Forever,” “Seeing And Believing,” “I See Stars,” “Strange Out Here”
Song Notes: After the jump

  1. Orange Airplane – almost punky
  2. You Tell Me All These Things – Doors-y keys at start. Great chorus. Almost full.
  3. Standing On The Edge – Def some Jim Morrison going on here, too. What year was that ollie stone movie? It was like 90, right? This and “Orange Airplane” seem to be in contention for my second fave song on the disc. Not a great start, but really like that super strutty guit when it hits the chorus.
  4. Forever – honky guit. not honky-tonk, but honky.
  5. Seeing And Believing – Starts with a ringy jangle
  6. I See Stars – Allmusic didn’t like this, but f them. No, it’s not great, but it’s a great melody. I don’t think I’ve ever agreed with a single thing Allmusic has written anyway.
  7. Lonely Girl – Decent. That’s a cool keys sound. A late addition to the full-heart group.
  8. Strange Out Here – Jim Morrison much? Both in vocal sound and the title of the song.
  9. The Turning – Pretty clearly the best song, and I don’t think it’s because it’s the only one I’m familiar with. I think it really is the star.
  10. Clairvoyance – Really don’t like that slow beginning, but Pickerel is strongest here. Really dig the rockingness of it.
One thought on “Screaming Trees: Clairvoyance

  1. Pingback: Screaming Trees: Even If And Especially When | fatclown

Leave a Reply

