Satchel: The Family

I don’t know how to review this album. It’s definitely in my top ten albums of all time, probably more like top three or four. It’s perfect. Every CD should strive to be this good. There’s really nothing more I can say about it. So let me tell you my memory of the first time I listened to it.

This album was my first real exposure to Satchel. I’d heard EDC maybe once from a friend and wasn’t that impressed. But I was a big fan of Brad’s first two records, so I gave this a shot. I don’t know where I got it, but I have an advance copy of the CD, so it was either a bargain bin pick-up or I swiped it from KWUR.

Anyway, I was in love from the first listen. How often does that happen? How often do you listen to an album for the first time and every note resonates with you? Well here’s one of the few times it happened for me. As “Roll On” ended and I blissfully faded into the silence, completely rewarded by the album for having lived over two decades at that point, I noticed that the CD was still going…it was silent but the timer was still ticking forward. Then the sounds of a light but steady rain (Seattle) came over the speakers, and I thought, “Oh no, how could you? How could you ruin a perfect CD, one that ended perfectly, with a hidden track?”

But then something weird happened. The hidden track, which is more mood than song, made the album even more perfect. How about that? An album that was perfect on first listen and whose hidden track actually worked as such. I don’t think there’s anything more I need to say.

– “Isn’t That Right,” “Without Love,” “Not Too Late,” “Criminal Justice,” “Breathe Deep,” ‘Time “O” The Year,’ “For So Long,” “Some More Trouble,” “Tomorrow,” “Roll On”
Filed Between: Satchel’s Mr. Pink and Sausage (Riddles Are Abound Tonight)
Song Notes: After the jump

  1. Isn’t That Right –
  2. Without Love –
  3. Not Too Late –
  4. Criminal Justice –
  5. Breathe Deep –
  6. Time “O” The Year
  7. For So Long –
  8. Some More Trouble – So dirty.
  9. Tomorrow –
  10. Roll On –

3 thoughts on “Satchel: The Family

  1. Pingback: Satchel: Heartache And Honey | fatclown

  2. Pingback: The Fat Clown Mixes Of 2013 | fatclown

  3. Pingback: 2013 Clownies | fatclown

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s