The Beatles: Revolver

Second CD reviewed in a row that I fairly strongly disliked at first.  I was lukewarm on this one for a much longer time, though.  I think I finally understand its reputation now (though the stupid debate among hipsters about Revolver v. Rubber Soul as the best Beatles album has to end…just partaking in the debate is a lame attempt to signal hipster cred, at which point you lose all non-hipster cred.)  Once I got past the terrible sound and the stretch from 4-6 without a keeper I was able to see it for what it is: a collection of mostly fabulous songs.

  1. Taxman – Liked more before I knew it was George whining about his taxes.  #OccupyTheBeatles. (“Daddy singing taxman song.”)
  2. Eleanor Rigby – Ridiculed so much for the fact that violin players love it.  Stupidest criticism ever.  Fantastic song.
  3. I’m Only Sleeping – Sounds like crap, but a great song to sing to my kids.  (“Daddy singing sleeping song.”) It’s a fantastic song, period, I just wish it didn’t sound like ass.
  4. Love You To – George’s sitar contribution to the album.
  5. Here, There and Everywhere – Fine, but yawny.
  6. Yellow Submarine – I’m torn so much on this song.  I’ve never really liked it, finding it way too simple.  But it is a cool song to sing with kids (“Daddy singing submarine song”), and the expansions on the theme in the instruments is kind of cool.  And it’s Ringo, so I want to love it.  But I can’t stand it.
  7. She Said She Said – Is the sound good enough to mix?  The song is, not sure if the sound is.
  8. Good Day Sunshine – “Daddy singing sunshine song.”
  9. And Your Bird Can Sing – peaking, but great song.
  10. For No One – So sad
  11. Doctor Robert –
  12. I Want To Tell You – Gad sound again
  13. Got To Get You Into My Life –
  14. Tomorrow Never Knows – Another sitar one.  This one’s much better.

Rating:
newclown_thumb2972222218225newclown_thumb2972222218225newclown_thumb2972222218225newclown_thumb2972222218225halfclown_thumb23_thumb_thumb_thumb_[2]
Mix:
“Good Day Sunshine,” “And Your Bird Can Sing”
Keep:
“Taxman,” “Eleanor Rigby,” “I’m Only Sleeping,” “She Said She Said,” “For No One,” “Got To Get You Into My Life,” “Tomorrow Never Knows”
Like:
“Love You To,” “Here, There and Everywhere,” “Doctor Robert,” “I Want To Tell You”
Filed Between: The Beatles’ Help! and Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band

2 thoughts on “The Beatles: Revolver

  1. Pingback: The Beatles: Rubber Soul | fatclown

  2. Pingback: The Beatles: 1962-1966 | fatclown

Leave a Reply

